Praying and “The Bog of Eternal Stench”

My Mormon Life

Typical-

I do laundry.  This way my kids don’t smell like “The Bog of Eternal Stench.”

ATypical-

I’ve had one of those “high efficiency” washer and dryers for a couple of years now and have only just bought the proper detergent for it.   Could we spring for the nice stuff?  Sure . . . . but really, is my washer really “too good” for the generic suds?  Apparently it is – as the maintenance man has told me. . . twice.  But really – if it’s so “superior,” shouldn’t it be able to suck it up and blow bubbles with the old stuff?

Mormon Moment –

When taking some clothes upstairs I pause in the hallway and get down on my knees to pray.

Q: Why pray in the hallway?

Why not?  You can do it here or there, you can do it anywhere!  It doesn’t really matter where you do it, just so long as you’re praying.  A hallway is just as good as a closet:

6 But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy acloset, and when thou hast bshut thy door, cpray to thy Father which is in dsecret; and thy Father which eseeth in secret shall freward thee openly.  ~Matt. 6: 6 (New Testament)

Q: Why the sudden urge to stop in the middle of putting away laundry to pray?

It’s Spring Break and I’m with my kids 24/7.  This is a bit of culture shock for me.  I want them to remember this time as special with a really cool fun mom, rather than a crabby mean mom who freaked with the running, yelling, tattling, brown sugar all over the floor and such.

I’ve learned that if I get good thoughts or impressions, it’s best to take immediate action as they’re probably more important than I realize.  If I don’t do it right away, I’ll forget – and regret.

So I paused to get down on my knees and asked Heavenly Father for a little help to be the mom that they need, that He wants me to be, and that I hope to be.

‘Children are to be born into a family where the parents hold the needs of children equal to their own in importance. Hope on, trust on, till you see the salvation of God.’4 You can pray for your children, love them, and reach out to them with confidence that Jesus reaches for them with you.

– Elder Henry B. Eyring, Apostle (“Our Perfect ExampleEnsign. Nov. 2009)

I know taking a moment for prayer makes a huge difference in how I feel, think, act . . . and in return how my kids do similarly.  They’re worth it and so am I.

Does this ever help you?

-Chickout 😉

About atmchick

I'm a well grounded (a)typical Mormon (Latter-day-saint) chick.

Posted on March 23, 2010, in My Mormon Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A great reminder that we can stop and pray anytime. I love it.

  2. I pray in my car- It’s soothing for me.

    • L-
      Me too. Sometimes I forget to say morning family prayers – and so my kids and I will do it in the car before we take off. Or – I’ll just randomly talk to God and thank him for the beautiful day. Thanks for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

