Brandon Flowers – Lead Singer of The Killers

Famous Mormons

This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license. - Wikipedia

The Killers is one of my favorite bands.  Formed in 2002, their sound is reminiscent of 80’s synth pop with a glam indie edge.  They broke through charts with their first Hot Fuss album featuring songs like “Mr. Brightside” and “Somebody Told Me.” These hits were followed by the Sam’s Town, Sawdust, and the Day & Age albums along with the recent “A White Demon Love Song” written for the 2009 Twilight: New Moon soundtrack.  They’ve sold over 16 Million Albums Worldwide and lead singer/lyricist Brandon Flowers just happens to be Mormon.

Though born in Henderson, Nevada Brandon is reported to have spent his growing years in Utah as the youngest of six children.  His father was baptized when Brandon was 5 years old.  Of course I don’t know him personally or how active he is in his faith but I have read that he and his wife named their first child Ammon – which is a very Mormon thing to do.  Why?

Courtesy Photobucket by 40Licks22

The Story of Ammon

Ammon was the son of King Mosiah of the Nephites (ancestors to Native Americans) in the ancient city of Zarahemla (located somewhere in ancient America).  He was offered the crown but instead chose to become a missionary along with his other brothers, friends, and Alma the Younger (who eventually became a Prophet).

Ammon traveled to a land inhabited by the Lamanites (who were enemies of Nephites and are also ancestors of Native Americans).  He was captured and delivered to King Lamoni.  The Missionary found favor with the King and became his servant, watching over the sheep with other Lamanite servants.  While doing so some wicked Lamanites stole the King’s sheep.  Though the other servants were afraid, Ammon lead them to retrieve the sheep.  He and the other servants were greatly outnumbered and attacked by the wicked Lamanites.

With great faith and the power of God, Ammon was able to defeat the Lamanites.  While he only killed the leader of the thieves, he did manage to cut off quite a few of their arms.  These limbs were gathered by the other servants and taken before King Lamoni as proof when they told him of Ammon’s Godlike strength.

King Lamoni feared Ammon a God.  The great missionary taught the King that he was a man, granted the power of God through his faith (much like David vs. Goliath).  He then began teaching King Lamoni the gospel.  King Lamoni and many of his people converted.  ~Alma Ch. 17-8, Mosiah Ch. 28 (Book Of Mormon)

So needless to say, Ammon is a very cool Mormon name for a little boy.

Back to Brandon.  He admits to ups and downs with his faith (we all have them).  An article in mormonwiki shares,

Though Brandon has waivered in following the dictates of the Church (mostly the health laws, or “Word of Wisdom),” he has said in his most recent interviews that his faith is becoming more and more important to him. In an interview with Jonathan Ross on May 29, 2009, Flowers stated that he both grew up and chose to be a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. He also stated that he has not used alcohol for a very long time (in accordance with church practices). – Mormonwiki

I’m sure the Mormon questions are hard but he takes them on well in this interview:

Even when I slipped I still believed what I believe. – Brandon Flowers, The Observer in the UK

-Chickout 😉

PS.  He’s also noted to have performed for church talent shows.  I think I’d “relocate my membership” just to attend one of those!  Brandon Flowers is definitely worth all of the “Hot Fuss.”

For further stats/bio on Brandon check out www.imdb.com

Brandon Flowers Facebook Page

Brandon Flowers MySpace Page

Sources: Bio info. from Wikipedia & Billboard

About atmchick

I'm a well grounded (a)typical Mormon (Latter-day-saint) chick.

Posted on April 1, 2010, in Famous Mormons, Featured Videos. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Just got done reading ‘No Man Knows My History’. That and the fact that there is no historical evidence for the book of Mormon yet there is a plethora of evidence in the world to support the authenticity of the bible have me doubting the Mormon religion. That and the fact that they refuse to answer my questions and just say “I have to ask an elder.” Just sounds like their being told what to say. I don’t know I would love to discuss it with someone.

    • Topher-
      Thanks for commenting. I have never read, “No Man Knows My History” so I’m afraid that I can’t respond to your findings there. I was speaking to a friend the other night who had taken a college religion class and was surprised to find that the teacher (who was not Mormon) bluntly told the class that if any students were LDS, he was sorry – as the text was sorely inaccurate on its findings on the Mormon faith. Some researchers do their due diligence, others don’t.
      As to the historical evidence of the Book of Mormon one could simply offer that of all the scholarly studies that have been rendered on the book and its contents, there hasn’t been a single expert who has been able to say with authority that the book is a fraud.
      If you’re looking for a website that may be able to answer your questions about the LDS church, the Book and its origins you can look here at LDS FAQ or Fair LDS . A site for posting your questions and getting great answers would be All About Mormons .
      Lastly I’d like to share a testimony of this book with you, from one of our apostles, Jeffrey R. Holland:

      For 179 years this book has been examined and attacked, denied and deconstructed, targeted and torn apart like perhaps no other book in modern religious history—perhaps like no other book in any religious history. And still it stands. Failed theories about its origins have been born and parroted and have died—from Ethan Smith to Solomon Spaulding to deranged paranoid to cunning genius. None of these frankly pathetic answers for this book has ever withstood examination because there is no other answer than the one Joseph gave as its young unlearned translator. In this I stand with my own great-grandfather, who said simply enough, “No wicked man could write such a book as this; and no good man would write it, unless it were true and he were commanded of God to do so.”10
      [. . .] My witness echoes that of Nephi, who wrote part of the book in his “last days”:

      “Hearken unto these words and believe in Christ; and if ye believe not in these words believe in Christ. And if ye shall believe in Christ ye will believe in these words, for they are the words of Christ, … and they teach all men that they should do good.

      “And if they are not the words of Christ, judge ye—for Christ will show unto you, with power and great glory, that they are his words, at the last day.”14

      Brothers and sisters, God always provides safety for the soul, and with the Book of Mormon, He has again done that in our time. Remember this declaration by Jesus Himself: “Whoso treasureth up my word, shall not be deceived”15—and in the last days neither your heart nor your faith will fail you. Of this I earnestly testify in the name of Jesus Christ, amen. (“Safety for the Soul” Ensign, 2009)

      Topher, I hope you find what you’re looking for. I realize that you may be frustrated that people tell you to ask missionaries. However, they are a good resource. I suggest you get a copy of the book and study it out for yourself. Compare it with the teachings of the bible, and ask God if it’s true. There’s no authority greater than that. There’s a “chat live” link in my sidebar where you may order a free Book of Mormon or ask your questions to a missionary.
      I am not a scholar, but I have read and applied the teachings of the Book of Mormon. I have compared them to those of the Bible (which I also believe in and study) and have found that both books testify of Christ and his teachings. I have prayed about it and know that it is true. I have applied the words of Christ from both books to my life and have seen that my life is better for it.
      I don’t know that one can truly trust a scholar when asking if a religion or faith is true. I think that is something you have to work out for yourself. Good luck. I hope this helped. Please feel free to stop in again and post.

  2. Here’s a fun note, my brother in law is serving his mission in LV and just had dinner at his house. Said he’s a normal guy with a normal family, with a guard outside his neighborhood gate.

  3. wow. i am so not up on anything any more. i really like the killers and i had no idea he was mormon. he’s rather fair to look upon, right mormon chick?

    • Hey Shan!
      Definitely – especially with the whole King of the Goblins/David Bowie look going 😉 LOL hmmmmm. All you need is a little guyliner and your an instant hottie rockstar, right?

      (Okay – the secret is out . . . . I totally loved Jared (King of the Goblins) – straight or no. I thought he was A#1 along with the lead singer from A-Ha – my two first celebrity crushes.)

  4. YAY! I HEART THE KILLERS! Thanks for the update, I think it’s important to have a faith to follow. I often wonder if some of my favorite musicians believe in anything, especially during this day in age, where there are so many people who seem lost (and probably are).
    You ROCK!
    -L

    • I agree with you L-
      Faith is huge, for so many reasons. Glad to see you here commenting! And it was nice meeting you today. 😉 What other musicians do you like?

      • It was great to finally meet you as well. Hmm, other musicians….I really love bands from the 80’s, but I like so many different groups. Geez, I feel on the spot now and can’t think off the top of my head. Umm, I have always liked Natalie Merchant (and have seen her live a few times). She has an amazing voice and her lyrics are not your typical “radio” songs. She’s become very “underground” the last few years.
        How about you and Mr. JD? What musicians do you follow?

        • L-
          I love the 80’s too. I enjoy using pandora (www.pandora.com) and have programmed my own 80’s station. Alternative music was mainstream when I was a kid, so I enjoy music that has an alternative flavor. However, I like a wide range of stuff (50’s, 60’s, 80’s, current, etc.) I’m not a big fan of rap, R&B, or hip hop. Some R&B works though. My current favorites are Greg Laswell, Coldplay, Killers, Muse, Iron & Wine, etc. J is a country bumpkin (I think if he could have all of George Strait and Garth Brooks he would – he’s close). He likes a lot of other stuff too though – like Shakira. (Are you laughing? Me too.)

          • SHAKIRA! You’re kidding, right?! Please say you are kidding….LOL. I will laugh now everytime I hear her songs. I do not like her music.

Leave a Reply

