Exercising Life and Truth

Featured Articles

I enjoyed this story and thought you may too.  It touches on one man’s struggles to change his lifestyle when joining The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day-Saints.  Here’s an excerpt:

I can vividly recall a sunny Sunday afternoon in July 1959 when Pamela and I were walking and talking together. I was contemplating becoming a member of the Church through the ordinance of baptism. Pamela said, “I can’t remember the missionaries teaching you about tithing.”

“What is this tithing?” I asked.

Pamela responded that members give 10 percent of their income in obedience to God’s law and as an expression of their gratitude for all that our Heavenly Father has given them.

There have been a few moments in my life when I felt faint as a result of shock, and this was one of them. “Ten percent!” I echoed. “That’s impossible. There’s no way I could afford to pay tithing.” ~ Elder Kenneth Johnson (Liahona, June 1999)

One word of wisdom from the article I particularly enjoyed:

President Heber J. Grant often quoted the saying, “That which we persist in doing becomes easier to do; not that the nature of the thing is changed, but our power to do is increased” (Bryant S. Hinckley, Heber J. Grant: Highlights in the Life of a Great Leader [1951], 49).

I think this statement is true of most any new thing we try to implement in our lives.

This article speaks of more than just one man’s conversion – but also his efforts to seek the truth.  How do we know truth or worth when we come across it?  Once we find it, how do we find the strength necessary to live by it?

Click HERE to read the entire article. Enjoy!

-Chickout 😉

About atmchick

I'm a well grounded (a)typical Mormon (Latter-day-saint) chick.

Posted on April 15, 2010, in Featured Articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

