Immortal Goodbye

Mormon in the Real World

This is my deathbed scene, as prompted to write for my Death and Dying class.

Alone for the past few years, she became content with forgotten solitude; content until losing all association with it, barely grasping which world she lay in.  At least she no longer felt trapped, being beyond the captivity of her body, unaware of its final beating.  The numbness seeped into her bones, silently overruling her soul.  There was something though, faint and distant in her colorless world.  She rarely registered them, but heard their voices now.  Her grandchildren, singing a once familiar tune:

“I am a Child of God and he has sent me here.”  So far and foggy, she barely grasped it, a lost memory tugging for recognition.

“Has given me an earthly home, with parents kind and dear.”  Feathers tickled her ears and stroked her curled fingers.  The voices were joined by others, purer, like sunlight streaming through a darkened cloud.  One among them stronger, closer, and a little off-key, he always was.  Her best friend, lost so long ago.  Oh how she missed his beautiful unruly voice.

“Lead me, guide me, walk beside me.  Help me find the way.”  She wanted to laugh and cry, if only her body knew how.  Her mind forgot the basics soon after forgetting reality and losing her children.  They were here now, granted one last visitation, unknowingly singing with their father, grandparents, aunts and uncles.  She saw them all for one last mortal moment, singing her immortal goodbye as they whispered theirs.

“Teach me all that I must do, to live with him some day.”

  • Click HERE to hear the song, “I am a Child of God”.  Be sure to select “Words and Music” in the top of the left column.

What about this deathbed scene is based on my Mormon beliefs?

-The concept of afterlife and being reunited with loved ones.

I believe because my husband and I were married in the temple and sealed for time and all eternity, he and I will continue our married relationship after death.  I believe that sealed families have the opportunity to continue their relationships in the next life.

-The song, “I am a Child of God” is an LDS primary song and hymn that speaks of our beliefs that we are spirit children of our Heavenly Father.  He created our spirits and sent us to Earth to gain bodies so that we may continue to learn and grow.  This song also speaks of parental responsibilities to teach children the truths that will help the child return to God in Heaven.

-Chickout 😉

About atmchick

I'm a well grounded (a)typical Mormon (Latter-day-saint) chick.

Posted on April 27, 2010, in Mormon in the Real World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Cool. I participate in a writing group where everyone is retired. It’s great because they are all published and much more experienced than me, but today we talked about one of the ladies who is considering putting her husband in a nursing home. Your story brought this back to my mind.

  2. Marzee, Wow. From one writer to another. Wow.

Leave a Reply

