Racing Life?

My Mormon Life

Today I’m wishing for more hours in the day. There are so many things calling, “Here, here! Pick me, Pick me!” So many dreams I want to pursue, kids to play with and enjoy, three bathrooms spitting dirty profanities, two tests to study for, and a lot of fun to be had.

Some days I envy Adam, Eve, Abraham and all those other biblical people. They had hundreds of years to figure their stuff out, be who they wanted to be, figure out how to live the way God wanted them to and so forth.

Does having a shorter life span mean that God figures we’re so “with it” that we can get our ducks in a row by the time we’re 80-something, that we ought to figure out what’s most important and fulfill that within this  sprint called life?

It seems no matter how I look at it, life is under a tight schedule . . . and I need better running shoes.

Spiritual Thought to help me out:

The Lord does not expect that we do what we cannot achieve. The command to become perfect, as He is, encourages us to achieve the best of ourselves, to discover and develop the talents and attributes with which we are blessed by a loving Eternal Father, who invites us to realize our potential as children of God. He knows us; He knows of our capacities and our limitations. The invitation and challenge to become perfect, to achieve eternal life is for all mankind.

Immediately after teaching that “it is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength,” King Benjamin indicated that “it is expedient that he should be diligent, that thereby he might win the prize.”6 God will not require more than the best we can give because that would not be just, but neither can He accept less than that because that would not be just either. Therefore, let us always give the best we can in the service of God and our fellowmen. Let us serve in our families and in our callings in the Church in the best manner possible. Let us do the best we can and each day be a little better. ~ “Attempting the Impossible” by Elder Jorge F. Zeballos, Ensign Nov. 2009

I’ll just keep trying my best . . . doing a little better every day.  Time to go stretch.  Breathe . . .

-Chickout 😉

PS. How’s your run treating you?

About atmchick

I'm a well grounded (a)typical Mormon (Latter-day-saint) chick.

Posted on May 10, 2010, in My Mormon Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I used to say, “Why walk when you can run?” And I loved running – on the road, and in real life. But, after a health crisis a few years ago, I was forced to trade in my running shoes for a pair of walking shoes. Who knew life was fine – so much more fine – at a slower pace? And my brain (creativity), my heart (relationships) and my muscle (faith) are in better shape than ever. Wonderful post.

    • Walking is nice. Honestly, I think I feel like I’m running right now because my life isn’t in “order”. I’ve been a little out of whack.

      How do I get control?
      For me it’s going to bed early, waking up early, saying morning and evening personal prayers and being consistent about scripture study. I notice a HUGE difference in my pace of life when I do these things. I feel more organized, relaxed, productive, and happy. Little things do make a big difference.

      Thanks for visiting, Mona!

Leave a Reply

