Getting Answers from God

LDS Beliefs, My Mormon Life

I’ve never been responsible for an income. I have no idea what it is to have that kind of pressure.  The closest I’ve come to it was this past week when my husband and I decided I would need to pay back my student loans on my own.

He’s always been the bread winner and I the stay-at-home mom.  Seeing my income will be required for student loans, I’ve wondered how to provide that and still be the mom my children need.  I’ve even questioned my major as a viable choice for future employment.  I chose my degree to achieve a dream, not an income.  Do I need to rethink my future to support family needs rather than personal wishes?

How do we make those hard decisions?  How can we confidently choose our futures?  Do we have to do it alone?

The LDS church believes God is as invested in us today as he was in days of old and that he continues to provide guidance to his children.  We call this intimate communication “personal revelation”.  It is available to us all.

Do you want to know what job to choose?  Have you chosen the right major?  Do you need guidance in how to repair a relationship?  Whatever it is, you can have God’s input on the matter.

Prophet/President Harold B. Lee taught that “every man has the privilege to exercise these gifts and these privileges in the conduct of his own affairs; in bringing up his children in the way they should go; in the management of his business, or whatever he does. It is his right to enjoy the spirit of revelation and of inspiration to do the right thing, to be wise and prudent, just and good, in everything that he does.” (Harold B. Lee, Stand Ye in Holy Places, pp. 141–42.)

How to receive Revelation:

1. Study it out

First – we have to do our own due diligence.  Research the matter.  Make a pro and con list.  Get a full understanding of the problem and then make your decision before going to God.

7 Behold, you have not understood; you have supposed that I would give it unto you, when you took no thought save it was to ask me.

8 But, behold, I say unto you, that you must astudy it out in your bmind; then you must cask me if it be right . . . ~ Doctrine & Covenants Section 9 vs. 7,8

2. Prepare to Receive Revelation

If you want to receive revelation or answer from God, you need to align yourself for that blessing.  Are you making good choices?  Are you trying to live a good life?  Are you in a place where if He was to whisper/inspire an answer that you would hear and receive it?

A few things you can do to prepare:

  • Be Humble & Reverent – Have profound respect & love towards God, recognizing your dependence on him
  • Keep the Commandments – Live righteously so you are in tune to receive the answer
  • Study the Scriptures – Go to God’s words for inspiration, you may find your answer there
  • Take time to Ponder – think about your options and what God would want you to do   ~ See Preparing to Receive Revelation

3. Ask in Faith

You’ve studied the matter, made your decision and have worked hard to prepare yourself.  You’re now ready to ask God what he thinks.  Time to pray.

  • Begin by addressing God, “Dear Heavenly Father . . .”  or  “God in Heaven”  however you’re comfortable addressing him.
  • Thank him for your blessings (children, home, your ability to provide for the family, the beautiful weather, etc.).
  • Tell him what’s going on. Explain the situation – the pros and cons, and how you came to your decision.
  • Ask him if your decision is right, if he thinks it’s the best thing for you and yours.
  • Listen, have faith and wait for the answer.
4. Receive/Discern the Answer
How do you know if what you’ve decided is right?
8 But, behold, I say unto you, that you must astudy it out in your bmind; then you must cask me if it be right, and if it is right I will cause that your dbosomshall eburn within you; therefore, you shall ffeel that it is right.

9 But if it be not right you shall have no such feelings, but you shall have a astupor of thought that shall cause you to forget the thing which is wrong; therefore, you cannot write that which is bsacred save it be given you from me. ~ Doctrine & Covenants Section 9 vs. 8,9

Recap

If it’s Right – your heart will burn, it’ll feel warm like a big bear hug.

If it’s wrong – you’ll forget what you’re praying about, you’ll forget what choice you made, you’ll lose focus.

That’s it.  This form of receiving revelation is through prayer.  I remember being on my knees for 45 mins. as a girl – before I felt that “burning” in my heart.  Be patient.

Forms of Answer

The Lord may choose not to give you an immediate answer.  It may come later in a good thought, a calm or peace feeling about your decision, an excitement for your choice and the new opportunity, through the advice or service of another, etc.  Prayer is only one way to receive an answer.

There are also times when God lets us choose.  He may not have an opinion on the matter. . . . it could be that you’re choosing from two good things and either would be pleasing to him.  He’ll leave the choice to you.  If you suspect this may be the case and want confirmation . . . Just ask, “Heavenly Father, are you leaving this up to me?”

In my case I studied out my options for education and met with the school advisor.  I prayed before I went in, asking that Heavenly Father would help me to know what to do.

My answer came with an excitement for a new opportunity I hadn’t previously considered.  Additionally, the new option answered all of my questions and concerns about degree choice, future employment, and so forth.  The advisor also specifically addressed matters that I talked to God about.  I felt at peace and knew that Heavenly Father had helped and guided me through the process.  And yes, I was sure to say a “thank you prayer” afterwards.

I know that we can receive God’s guidance in our lives.  We do need to do a little work to prepare ourselves. . . but if we do all that we can, and take the matter to him – he’ll give us aid.  I pray that you will find this too.

-Chickout 😉

For more information on seeking and receiving revelation:

“Revelation”

“The Message:  Eight Ways God can Speak to You”

About atmchick

I'm a well grounded (a)typical Mormon (Latter-day-saint) chick.

Posted on May 14, 2010, in LDS Beliefs, My Mormon Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What a well-written post about such an important and wonderful topic. I had one thought: once my stupor of thought wasn’t necessarily me forgetting as it was my feelings going right back into turmoil and finding myself doubting the decision I had come to. When I finally came to the right choice, I felt so at peace and had no more doubts. My stupor of thought was gone. It is truly amazing, the power of personal revelation. I’m so grateful for how much it has played in my life.

    Good luck with everything!

    • Two to two-
      I like how you describe a stupor of thought as “turmoil” – further frustration and confusion.

      A friend once told me that confusion is a tool of the Devil – so if it’s something you shouldn’t do – you’ll feel confused or doubtful about it.

      I was talking about this with a Non-LDS friend the other day. He was considering a job opportunity in Utah. Everything about the job seemed perfect – good people, great opportunity, etc. – but he just didn’t feel right about it. We talked about prayer – and getting answers. He decided to go with those feelings, and immediately felt at peace.

      Sometimes things look ideal . . . but you have to trust those promptings – some may call it your “gut”.

      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Best wishes on your chosen path. I love it when I get these kinds of answers because I can move forward without looking back. For example, I majored in civil engineering. From prayer, I knew this was the right choice, even though it seemed inconsistent with my ultimate goal of being a homemaker.

    Fast forward ten years, I have my dream job (being a domestic engineer). I only worked three years as an engineer but my salary from those three years paid for six years of living expenses during hubby’s graduate school. So we came out of grad school debt free. Now that’s a blessing! Could we have worked it out a different way? Of course. But having the answer to my prayer helped me push through long (and I mean loooooong) hours of studying when I might otherwise have wasted energy thinking, ‘What is the point? Will I even ever use these skills?’

    • Hannah –
      That’s so great. Six years of living expenses – truly a miracle! It’s so nice that we can go to someone infinitely wiser than us. Imagine if you had to make a choice like that on your own. Would you have chosen the same thing? Maybe – but as you point out – knowing that Heavenly Father was with you gave you the strength to keep going in difficult moments. Thanks for sharing – and for the support/encouragement.

  3. what is your major?

    • I originally planned on being an English major. However, I’ve decided to pursue a Humanities major focusing on Creative writing and Digital Technology. Best of both worlds for me. I’ll also be getting a Professional Writing Certificate (which is geared towards Business writing). I’ll get to write fiction, pursue business writing, and work with technology – like graphics, web design, and other web based works. Perfect for my interests and fairly employable.

Leave a Reply

