A Love Story

I wasn’t ready for my husband. Well, I was ready to marry but I wasn’t looking for the guy who annoyingly followed me out of class one day – all the way to the water fountain and back. As if I didn’t know what he was up to. His interrogation didn’t make such a great impression either, “How old are you? Where are you from?” Smooth. His name was Jon. I tried to shrug him off and avoid him. I just wasn’t interested. Then the phone calls began – which was fine – but I had a boyfriend in Arizona and I wasn’t looking elsewhere. No, I didn’t tell Jon about the other guy.  It was none of his business.  Even when I accidentally trapped myself into a date with him – I was sure to clarify that I wasn’t interested in dating. I only wanted to be friends. He held up his hands up with indifference saying, “Fine with me” which he seemed to be. . . . until the Chris debacle.

Chris was a friend of mine and a Home teacher to Jon.  Home teachers are guys from church who are assigned to visit people in the ward – to check in on them, befriend them, etc.  Everyone has a home teacher (nice way of looking out for each other). I happened to be hanging around on one of Chris’ visits to Jon. Chris, who was dating a flight attendant and aware of my Arizona boyfriend, said to me (in front of Jon), “I don’t know how you do this long distance relationship thing.”  Jon’s face fell.  He looked shell shocked and heartbroken as he stared at the floor looking for answers, feeling a fool. That’s when he began avoiding me. He left town for a couple of days and unbeknownst to me, vowed to never call again. When he got back, I invited him over to play cards in hope of mending our friendship. Sitting across the table from each other, I looked up at him and gaped. His face was a rosy hue. He glowed, more than any mortal should, and somehow turned from the ordinary guy I was friends with to something more. It was like I had never seen him until that moment. He was beautiful to me. I was dumbfounded – and must have looked it, gazing unwittingly at the man across the table. Of course he noticed my staring, and when questioned about it all I could do was mutter my awe, “I think I like your face.”

Almost ten years later – I’m still in awe and I still like his face.

How often do we have to be hit over the head to see the blessings that are right in front of us?

There are plenty of people in our lives who bless us every day with their love and kindness.  Have we taken the time to validate those blessings and express our gratitude to them and to our Father in Heaven for the tender mercies they bring to our lives?  I hope we can all take some time today to do so. Thank you for blessing my life with your comments, spirits, and testimonies.

Happy Valentine’s Day,

Marzee – your AtmChick

About atmchick

I'm a well grounded (a)typical Mormon (Latter-day-saint) chick.

Posted on February 14, 2011, in My Mormon Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Loved it Marzerkins! I never tire of hearing the stories of how two people met and fell in love, and no story ever seems boring to me. Sometimes I worry when I write about how happy I am being married to Mike that I might make someone feel sad — just friends I knwo who really struggle with their marriages, etc. But for those of us who are blessed to be happy in marriage, there is nothing better than to hear of other people who love their spouse and feel blessed to be connected to them. I mean that is what we grow up hoping for and teaching our kids to want, etc. etc. and to see it real — and working and happy in so many lives seriously makes me so happy!! I’m so glad you have your Jon. HAppy Valentines Day!!!

Leave a Reply

